ESL/ELL/Bilingual Resources - Training 10/15/2009

JoelAdkins

School House Rock Video on Verbs


FUNdamentals of learning

Your Letters to Me - requests for what you want to be trained on.

What is this place????

Rosetta Stone
Manager, weekend update, and student access.
District Resources online



Vocabulary Assessment - Made with Quizlet
Flash Card Exchange is great too.

Web 2.0 Tools U MUST HAVE!!

Delicious - social bookmarking (Joel is at http://delicious.com/engadkins)
Document Sharing - Google Documents
Voicethread- Digital Storytelling
Interactive Space: Imagination Cubed
iTunes - Apps for educators?

Google - Tools - ALL OF THEM

Google Earth
GE site for Educators
Discussion Thread of teachers sharing how they use GE in classrooms
Juicy Geography

Google Translate

Online Training Resources:
Atomic Learning
YouTube
TeacherTube
SchoolTube
TED Talks - iTunes
Fora TV

Alvin Toffler: "The illiterate of the 21st century are not the ones who cannot read or write; they are the ones who cannot learn, unlearn and relearn."

Connecting to Professional Learning Networks


E-Pals - connecting teacher & student webpages and projects

Twitter - search phrases: #ESL, #EFL, #businessenglish, #teachertuesday, #esl, #efl #businessenglish #teachertuesday
What is Twitter?
Why do people use it?

Blogs
27 Ways to Practice Spelling with Style
Teaching English using Web 2.0

Other Videos Sites:
Sozo Exchange - YouTube Channel
SlideShare - these aren't videos!

Social Networking Tools
NING
ESL Networks
Bilingual Networks
Edmodo


Tools


iLanguage
OneWord

Story Telling:
Ourstory.com
Time Toast
Kerpoof.com
FanFiction
Creaza.com
Primary Access

Document Cameras


Projects:
Word Mapping - Tools: MyWebSpiration.com. I recommend Bubbl.us or Gliffy.com
Wordle - Create word clouds

Visual Search Tools

Clusty and Clusty Clouds
Exalead - thumbnails of sites
Spezify




Digital Storytelling with Images & Video


Materials for creating Digital Stories:
1. Computer
2. Digital camera for still pictures (recommend a camera that plugs in with USB)
3. Digital camera for video (recommend the FLIP camera)
4. Video editing software (comes with the Flip) or use free online editor
5. Audio editing software - Audacity is free, easy and does complex editing
6. Scanner


Digital Storytelling - what it looks like
Voicethreads by Elementary and Middle School students
Voicethreads by Juniors and Seniors
Digital Stories
Scott County Schools
Fourth Grade Art Class
Briscoe Texas Heroes
1001 Flat World Tales
Special Education Teachers
Common Craft
ICan
WHS Vietnam Memorial Project

Online resources for LEARNING about Digital Stories:
DigiTales
Digital Storytelling Cookbook
The Digital Narrative
Educational Uses of Digital Storytelling
*CogDogRoo
Tech Head Stories


Online resources for CREATING Digital Stories:
MyStoryMaker
Primary Access
Windows to the Universe
Kerpoof
BubbleShare
Blabberize
Scrapblog
Mixbook
VoiceThread
Soungle
Animoto
Glogster

Microsoft Photostory 3 - software download that is FREE and easy to use
Online training for Photostory

Online resources for WATCHING Digital Stories:
Center for Digital Storytelling
We Tell Stories
Flickr and example of Flickr Math story
International Children's Digital Library
Hippocampus


Augmented Reality




Digital Image Libraries
Pics4Learning – www.pics4learning.com
PDPhoto.org – pdphoto.org
Flickr – flickr.com
Creative Commons – creativecommons.org

Digital Image Tools
Bubble Share – bubbleshare.com
Picnik – picnik.com
Voicethread – voicethread.com

Comics
Pixton – pixton.com
Kerpoof – kerpoof.com
Toondo – toondoo.com

Digital Video
Brain Pop, Brain Pop Jr., Brain Pop Español – brainpop.com
Internet Archive – archive.org/details/movies
English Trailers – english-trailers.com

Audio Podcasts with Text
Storynory – storynory.com
Archie Comics – archiecomics.com/podcasts

News and Current Events Podcasts
Voice of America – Special English – voanews.com/specialenglish/index.cfm
Breaking News English – breakingnewsenglish.com

Literature with Audio Support
Project Gutenberg – gutenberg.org
LibriVox – librivox.org
Lit 2 Go – etc.usf.edu/lit2go
Oxford University Press - http://www.oup.com/elt/students/?cc=global

Language Learning
Puma Rosa – pumarosa.com
ELLLO – elllo.org
Mango Languages – mangolanguages.com
UGoEigo – ugoeigo.com

Book Publishing
Lulu – lulu.com

Research site with ESL/ELL Support
Nettrekker – www.nettrekker.com

ESL/ELL Sites for Kids w/ minimal ads
British Council Learn English – britishcouncil.org/learnenglish
PBS Kids – pbswikds.org
RIF Leading to Read – rif.org/leadingtoreading
BBC School – bbc.co.uk/schools

ESL/ELL Teacher Tools
MES-English – mes-english.com
BBC Teaching English – www.teachingenglish.org.uk/index.shtml
Colorin Colorado – colorincolorado.org
Teacher Tube – www.teachertube.com
4teachers.org (Rubistar, PBL Checklst, Casa Notes) - rubistar.4teachers.org
Personal Educational Press – www.educationalpress.org/
How to Type Accents on a Computer – http://www.studyspanish.com/accents/typing.htm

Reading Sites with ESL/ELL Support
Starfall - www.starfall.com
Lookybook – lookybook.com
Reading A-Z, Raz-Kids $ - www.learninga-z.com
Bookpop - bookpop.com
Maggie Tales – maggietales.com

ESL/ELL Activity sites
English Zone – english-zone.com
A 4 ESL – a4esl.org
ESL Lab – esl-lab.com
Many Things – manythings.org

Video presentation by Arturo Guajardo - Austin ISD at ISTE convention